All of Taylor Swift’s Albums Ranked

Sofía Llamas
5 min readJul 24, 2020

From a devoted fan since 2007

I’ve been a fan of Taylor’s since I first listened to Our Song back when I was in 7th grade. Ever since that day, I’ve cried with Taylor Swift, danced with Taylor Swift, and grown with Taylor Swift.

She graciously saved our 2020 by releasing a new album, her 8th studio album, and the second one to be completely owned by herself. Folklore is a look at Taylor’s most creative side, with songs based on stories not only lived by herself but by imaginary characters. As always, when Jack Antonoff and Taylor get together, they delivered magic.

However, I do not think this is Taylor’s best album to date. Here’s my personal ranking, from worst to best, of all of Taylor Swift’s studio albums.

8. Reputation, 2017

Reputation came out in 2017, and it’s Taylor’s last album released by Big Machine Records. If I had to pick one word to describe this album, it would definitely be “angry”, hence why it’s my least favorite from Taylor’s repertoire.

Best songs: Getaway Car, Getaway Car, and Getaway Car
Worst songs: King of my Heart, I Did Something Bad, Dress

7. Fearless, 2008

Fearless is Taylor’s second album, and it is basically the album that turned her into the megastar she is today. Here’s when Taylor was still singing country, high school drama, and fairytales. Fearless is a beautifully written, catchy bundle of fine tunes.

Best songs: Love Story, Fifteen, Fearless
Worst songs: Tell Me Why, You’re Not Sorry, Come in With the Rain

6. Taylor Swift, 2006

Taylor’s first album to be is better than her second one, because here we get to see the real, raw teenage Taylor. This album doesn’t have the production that Fearless has, with I think adds a certain charm to it. Taylor’s songwriting is pure, relatable, and imaginative.

Best songs: Our Song, Teardrops on my Guitar, Mary’s Song
Worst songs: Invisible, A Perfectly Good Heart, The Outside

5. Speak Now, 2010

There’s only one thing wrong with this album, and it’s that it is a mess. A beautiful mess but still, a mess. And don’t get me wrong, Speak Now has great songs on it, which is why I ranked it at number five. But just listening to the album in order, many of the songs don’t work well together. There’s some country, some pop, then some more stuff… great songs still though.

We can totally tell that Taylor was experimenting, finding her new sound and style, and she would continue to do so in Red (2012).

Best songs: Enchanted, Dear John, Long Live
Worst songs: Haunted, Better than Revenge, Speak Now

4. Lover, 2019

From here on now, I dare to say that all of these albums are masterpieces. They are all on the list of my absolute favorite albums of all time. Lover came out in 2019, like a breath of fresh air after the chaos of the Reputation era. I would say that this is Taylor’s first summer album since all of her previous ones had more of an autumny, wintery vibe to them.

Lover is all about, you guessed it, love, and it is a view into Taylor’s new life since she’s been deeply in love. Taylor seems definitely happier, more authentic, more relaxed than ever before, and I completely love this about this album.

Best songs: Daylight, Cruel Summer, Miss Americana and the Heartbreak Prince
Worst songs: It’s Nice to Have a Friend, I Think He Knows, Me!

3. Red, 2012

So…I know that many, many people think this is Taylor’s best album, and I agreed with that for many years. But as time goes by, even though I am still in love with red, I have come to appreciate the beauty of more cohesive albums. Just like Speak Now, there’s some songs on this album that do not go with the rest of it. That being said, Red does have a lot of Taylor Swift’s best writing on it, I just don’t think that it’s as creative or honest as my top two album picks.

Best songs: All too well (obviously), Red, Begin Again
Worst songs: The Lucky One, Girl at Home, Stay, Stay, Stay

2. Folklore, 2020

Taylor’s most recent album is a joy to listen. It’s magical, pure, mystical. I never thought that I would hear Taylor like this, it’s a whole new side of her. Taylor seems to have released herself from all the chains imposed to her by the media, by the Grammys, by the haters. I think this is Taylor’s most honest album, and one of the few ones that I can picture her actually listening to in her alone time.

Best songs: My Tears Ricochet, Cardigan, The Last Great American Dynasty
Worst songs: Mirrorball, Epiphany, Peace

3. 1989 (2014)

And here it is, my absolute favorite Taylor Swift album of all time. After Red came out, I thought I could never love an album as much as I loved that one, but thankfully two years later came this jewel. I have been obsessed with almost every single one of the songs on 1989, and if I had to play a song for someone who has never listened to Taylor before, it would definitely come from this album.

Best songs: Clean, Wildest Dreams, Style
Worst songs: None. Just kidding — How You Get the Girl, You are in Love, I Wish you Would

--

--

Sofía Llamas

Mexican, introvert, gymnastics lover, trying to be as eco-friendly as I can.